I’m an adult!

I’m officially an adult! I actually started working a real job…where I earn an actual amount of money and will be getting benefits. I’ll be damned! I’m quite proud of myself right now…I get paid next week! Yay me!

 Now for more interesting topics… I am still working on my room and mailing my package. It is hard to do stuff when I’m actually at a real job and get home all sleepy. Needless to say, I’m giddy for Friday. Actually I can’t wait till I get to night shift…mornings are hard for me. I have been taking pictures of my stash and some projects too.

 I have been working on a pair of cool socks, they are toe up which is a first for me. I am a test knitter because I found this group on ravelry and it is awesome! Free pattern and in the next case I’ll be getting some free yarn to do the pattern! How awesome is that! I also made my mom a washcloth the other day…which there is a story behind. For Christmas, my mom does this Alfie the Elf thing. (We didn’t do Santa…he was too busy for us so he’d send an elf named Alfie to help out.) Alfie brings a gift in the beginning/middle of December and every day you unwrap a layer and get a small present till the last day where you get a big one. This was just a preholiday thing that helped us get all excited. A couple of years ago, I started making my mom Alfie gifts in return, and this year I was doing a bunch of homemade things with my store bought things. I needed one last thing so I put in this horrible dishcloth I made that really did suck. It was my first ever entrelac and while it was ok, it was extremely loose, had some gaps etc. I told my mom she didn’t have to use it and I’d make her a better one in the future. Needless to say, she and my dad use the dumb thing constantly…they love it. They think homemade washcloths are amazing because they are more absorbant, the get bigger in water, and they are tough…So mom kept hinting that she’d like more and I’m the obliging girl who loves being told that something is so cool! Heh, mom is now offering to buy me cotton yarn to keep her dishcloth stash growing. It is great for me because I like doing dishcloths now and then for a small quick project or to test new techniques…plus my mom’s Christmas gift has totally just decreased in cost (Just kidding…maybe). Instead of spending tons of money on something she may never use, I can make dishcloths for about 75 cents a piece (not including labor costs) and have fun doing it. I really do love knitting….

 Last thing, I’m selfishly promoting a blog contest to get another entry…I have no shame! It is an easy one so go check it out and enter here.

2 responses to “I’m an adult!

  1. I have yet to try toe up socks. One day. There is a pattern in one of my new sock knitting books that I got at christmas. I will have to give it a try.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. Your name is in the hat! Good luck.

  2. Congratulations!! It’s a great feeling!

    I have tried toe up, and the cast on drove me insane 😮 I’ll have to find a better one or stick with cuff down lest I never try another pair!

Leave a Reply

